Quick Links

Useful Links

Mowlem Primary

Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Mowlem


The Equality Act became law in 2012. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics: 

1. Age 

2. Disability 

3. Gender reassignment 

4. Race 

5. Religion or belief 

6. Marriage or civil partnership 

7. Sex 

8. Sexual orientation 

9. Pregnancy and maternity 


Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination: 

  • When you are in the workplace 
  • When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college) 
  • When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas) 
  • When you use transport
  • When you join a club or association (for example, your local sports club) 
  • When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments 

Protected Characteristics in the Curriculum 

At Mowlem, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos. 

protected characteristics.pdf


Protected Characteristics Reading Spine 

Books are read as class texts over the course of the year to encourage positive and guided discussion of the protected characteristics. 

protected characteristics reading spine v3.pdf